News Detail

Thursday, January 4, 2018


Udhampur Campus, University of Jammu today organised an interaction session on Green Initiatives by Prof. Yash Paul Sharma, Head Department of Botany, University of Jammu.
Prof. Sharma addressed the students as well as faculty members of Udhampur Campus, University of Jammu. At the outset, Prof. Sharma, congratulated all the students and the faculty members to be a part of such a campus which is situated between the lush green surroundings. While interacting with the students he made them aware of various local plants which are planted in the campus like tali (Dalbergia Sisoo), Arjuna (Terminalia), Flaa, Brankad, Timbar, etc and also discussed about their medicinal value and their importance in daily routine.
Prof. Sharma also motivated the students to grow more and more trees in the campus and become Green ambassadors of their campus who would spread awareness regarding conservation of plants and their medicinal value in the nearby villages. He also discussed the emerging concepts of carbon credit and carbon trading amongst the various countries.
Prof. Sharma also shared his real life experiences and discussed various measures as how together as a team the campus can be made more beautiful and picturesque. He also suggested to revive the old cultural heritage of the rural areas by undertaking various activities like celebrating radde, a local festival whereby involving the nearby village people with the campus.
Prof. Hardeep Chahal, Rector Udhampur Campus, University of Jammu expressed her gratitude towards Prof. Sharma who spared his valuable time and shared his wide knowledge with the students of the campus and motivated them to come forward and make their campus clean and green. She also encouraged the students to observe and have a sense of curiosity regarding their environment and have a sense of belongingness towards them.
On the occasion faculty members of both the Departments of Commerce and Economics were present including Dr. Neetu Kumari, Pradeep Kumar, Taruna Dubey, Jhanvi Khanna, Vinod Kumar Sharma, Dr. Shilpa Gupta, Deepti Abrol, Dr. Kamani Dutta and Ritika Sambyal.